Upcoming Tri talk

I completely forgot to write it down, but a month or so ago I signed up for the Rumilly Super Sprint Triathlon on May 20th. It’s a 400m swim, 11.5km bike ride, and 3.1 km run. These are all very short compared to the Annecy tri I am doing in July (and the bike ride is a whole lotta nothing compared also!!). I am doing the short one instead of the olympic they offer because the last time I did this stuff all in a row was in 2009!! Taking a 3 year hiatus from racing, means I don’t remember, but also, I never really knew to begin with since it was my freshman year racing back 4 years ago! I cannot believe it’s been that long. I’ve been on this continent for far too long.

Anyway, I’m excited!! J and I are going down to Rumilly this Sunday to check out the lake/pond, the bike course and the run course. I don’t want surprises, even though it is super short. I’m very pumped up for this! I’ve lost a lot of weight and feel better about all 3 sports! My swim technique is much better now that I am focusing on the roll and bilateral breathing, my cycling is much more improved, and my running is off the charts. Now this is all in comparison to where I was in ’09. I ran/walked both triathlons. There is nothing wrong with that, it’s just I only knew 1 speed, GO!!! And I hadn’t trained right for a person who has never run before. However, this time I know I’ll be able to run it all, and do it in a decent time, for me. A year ago this time, I was running like 18 minute miles, where by “run” I mean walk/jog so I didn’t die and/or hate it completely! This year I’m at 12 min miles, which is still slow compared to others, but that’s not the point. But that is also my training pace, so I think I can get something around 11 min per mile out of me for this upcoming triathlon.

Today is a running day and it’s beaaautiful out! It’s around 68 deg F and I’m looking forward to it.

I also need to practice the transition times because I don’t remember anything about that except feeling drunk after the swim. I remember running to my bike, and not knowing what to do, staring around trying to get my stuff on and being very confused. It was better at the run, except during Iron Girl (my first tri), I was like “take the water! No, they’ll have some at the station. No, take it, you overheat! No, don’t do it! YES TAKE IT.” I jumped back and forth and finally threw it down, and ran off…only to get out of the path of vision of the cheering fans to start my walk-of-shame because I couldn’t breathe. Anyway, NOT THIS TIME! This time it’s fast pace, flat. in and out. I also need to see if my wet suit fits, I know it’s going to be cold in that water..I just know it. I hear they fish there, I also hear it’s really an etang (pond), which I’m not sure I want to swim in now…! 😀

Well, anyway, should be fun! I think Sunday will be a good time with J even if it does rain! We get to see a new part of France!

-A

Leave a Reply

