Help with accountability?

I think I am ready for this thing(the tri to trump all tris), but I also think that I need to have some culpability for the future, and really starting now. I feel like I slithered out of a lot of my training for no reasons, although at the time I’m sure I had some excuse like: “it’s raining” or “work was so long today” or “I’m afraid to take the metro in a city I am unfamiliar with…” bla bla bla. It’s all bogus when it comes down to it. Really.

I will give myself a break since J and I are at CERN, we don’t love it, and all that fun French stuff, definitely. And with all this, we have been averaging ~4 hours a week exercise, for 5-6 days a week, which is an increase of > 60% from last year!! Holy cow!! (real current reaction, despite being in the most boring meeting evaarrR) Now that I see those numbers, I think I will relax a little on the self-punishment. haha, maybe I should have checked that before! And to boot, I have lost a bit of weight. I guess I just expected more from myself…

However, it must be noted that I am just barely ready for an olympic distance triathlon. Had I been signed up for a sprint, I would be good to go! But since this triathlon is A) longest I’ll have done, B) got a bitchin’ bike ride, I’m still nervous. I really needed to do those extra swimbikeruns all those times I decided I didn’t want to. It’s a bummer to look back on it and see my lazy bupkiss at certain times. For instance, I absolutely 100% should have done my week of intense training in Prague (out there to give a talk at HQL2012 – Physics conference). It was the 6th week in an 8 week plan, where the 6th and 7th weeks get very intense. I guess it was my way of wimping out because I didn’t want to do it.

Point is, I want/need some accountability, not necessarily to do everything with training, but to make sure I stay on track!

How do I do this?

Do I ask J to be my coach in this?I feel like that’s dangerous! He is my hugest supporter, but I can’t ask him to do any more that he does. He’d never have time for photography!!

Do I hire a coach at some point? I don’t think it’s a bad idea, but I think that is for a few years from now…

Do I write the daily workouts on this thingy? Along with my feelings, and all that stuff? Use it as my journal, as it were? This feels like the most natural thing for me…for now. But will that hold me culpable for the training? No one reads this thing!

Any suggestions, J? I know you are the only one who reads 😉

 

Leave a Reply

